Disney Diaries

Happy 4th of July

So I know this is really late but I’ve been really busy and not had much time to update this blog but I thought I’d do a post on my first experience of the 4th of July.

Around the 4th of July Disney gets really busy and I was working on the 3rd but it meant that I got to experience Magic Kingdom at one of the busiest times of year. It was really fun and we all got pizza and cake backstage and it was just a great atmosphere. There was even a dance party happening in Frontierland, so I got to listen to different music other than the Frontierland music loop.

The good thing about working in Frontierland is that I get to see the fireworks every night! And this meant that I was able to see the special Independence Day firework show that Disney have on the 3rd and 4th of July. So at 9pm me and the other Frontierland Custodians managed to watch the fireworks and they were AMAZING! They have perimeter fireworks which means that they go off in a massive circle around the park, so you could be standing anywhere and see them all!

Luckily I had the 4th off along with quite a few other college program participants. So Laura, Elli, Alice and me all went to Epcot for the day as we thought it would be a little quieter than Magic Kingdom. So we were all wearing red white and blue clothes and managed to meet Mickey, Goofy and Pluto in their special American outfits which was really cute. We also got given a special American flag pin badge and we had a nice lunch in the Mexican pavilion.

IMG_4185

IMG_4193

IMG_4198

Surprisingly the park was really quiet! I couldn’t believe how few people we saw around world showcase. Apparently though the park did reach capacity a few times throughout the day and it did get busier the closer it got to the fireworks.

So at Epcot on the 4th of July they have the normal Illuminations but at the end they do a 5 minute tribute to America and I’ve never seen so many fireworks at one time! It was crazy how many went off at the end and they set some off around the American pavilion as well. Mel managed to join us later in the day to watch the fireworks and we got our spot nice and early to make sure we’d get a good view. It was quite entertaining hearing all the patriotic Americans before the fireworks as well.

After the fireworks they project images on the Epcot ball which was pretty cool! Over all I had a great day and it was so much fun to experience what Independence day is really like.

 

Leave a Reply

