Disney Diaries

Traditions!

Yesterday I had Traditions which is the first official day that I worked for Disney. Traditions is a training session at Disney University where they teach you a bit of Disney History and the main Disney values.

I had to get up at 5:30am to get to the coach that was picking us up in time and you have to wear business attire so I wore a dress. Unfortunately it was heavily raining when we left the apartment so we got soaked getting to the coach. By the time we arrived at Disney University, the rain had stopped luckily.

IMG_3891

Disney University is so cool! All the conference rooms have cute names after Disney characters, and theres Disney pictures up all over the place. There was even this little guy hanging from the ceiling:

img_3894.jpg

I won’t go into too much detail on the actual session as I din’t want to spoil it for future Cast Members, but you get a brief tour of Magic Kingdom and the Utilidors (tunnels under Magic Kingdom which is ground level). It was really fun and cool and I can’t wait to start working there.

Traditions mainly focused on Disney’s Four Keys- Safety, Courtesy, Show and Efficiency (in that order). So as we were going around Magic Kingdom, we had to spot these keys in action.

We then headed back to Disney University (which is right next to Magic Kingdom) to finish the session off. We got given our Blue ID cards which get us into the parks and we even had a visit from the boss to give us our name tags!

IMG_3908

There was a slight problem with my name tag as it wasn’t there, probably because I’d had a phone call telling me that my Traditions session had been moved times. But luckily, the trainer just went and got mine made for me there and then.

My session finished around 12:30pm which meant we could then go into the parks for the rest of the day! Originally we’d taken a change of clothes to change into once we got to Magic Kingdom, but me and my roommate, Olivia, accidentally got on the wrong bus so we ended up back at Chatham Housing. It worked out quite well as we were able to drop all our stuff off and dry off from the rain before heading into Magic Kingdom.

Once we got Magic Kingdom, we had to go to Guest Relations to let us in the park as our Blue ID’s are not properly activated yet. They then gave us a day pass which we could link to My Disney Experience if we wanted to book fast passes. Guest Relations also gave us Celebrating Badges!

img_3911.jpg

IMG_3924

FullSizeRender

Once we got in the park, it was really busy so we just walked around to see what had the shortest queues. We managed to fit quite a bit in as we went on Small World, Philharmagic, Peoplemover and The Haunted Mansion, Dumbo, The Barnstormer and Thunder Mountain. We also got to watch Happily Ever After and it was really good! It’s really different to Wishes but a suitable replacement, I can’t wait to see it again!

Over all, I had a great day and loved Traditions!

Leave a Reply

